Introducing Melissa Murphy

Melissa is a singer songwriter based in Toronto, Ontario. Her voice has strength and purity. Melissa’s material is fresh and original; it makes people leave her shows humming the catchy choruses.

Raised in Newfoundland. Since a little girl, she has been active in the music community, participating in choirs, festivals, and competitions. 

Melissa was also the voice for the Newfoundland and Labrador brand release commercial. This commercial was played before movies, on TV and more. Melissa had the pleasure of working in the studio with Toronto’s Eric Harry for this project.

Melissa participated in festivals such as Kiwanis Music Festival, where she won first place awards. In her grade twelve year, she was the jazz band singer and also had a sextet who played around town for special events. They performed on a local television show “Out of the Fog”.

When Melissa completed high school she went straight to Toronto for more opportunities and to attend Humber College for jazz vocals. She is currently enrolled in third year, and now teaches voice at Merriam School of Music.

Melissa is an avid writer and has the passion to share her music with the world. She has played in some Toronto venues with her band, The Central, Rivoli, Smiling Buddah, Free Times Café and more. She has a six-piece band, which includes drums, two guitars, keys and bass.

Melissa is now writing and recording for her up-coming album “Youth” releasing summer 2013.

 

Image

 How would you describe your sound?

I would describe my sound as a mixture between pop and rock. Although there are elements of folk and jazz that help create a nice balance.

Did you always know that you wanted to do music?

YES ! I have been singing since out of the womb. My mom said she didn’t have to check on me in the bath when I was a baby cause I was always singing!

Growing up, who were your musical role models?

I would have to say Celine Dion because that’s what my parents had kicking around, and she is great. I memorized all of her songs before grade 5. Spice girls were definitely a huge part of my life as well.

Who do you look up to musically today?

I really enjoy a huge spectrum of musicians. Adele, Missy Higgins, Justin Nozuka, Bob Dylan, The Band, Katy Perry. So many musicians inspire me in different ways.

Musically, what has been your biggest accomplishment so far?

I would have to say my EP. I went to Humber College in Toronto and in my last year I completed a three song EP entitled “Youth”.

What inspires you to write music?

Everything. From something someone says, to the way I am feeling. It seems to be changing as time goes by, which is nice because the songs always remind me of a certain point in my life.  

If you could work with anyone in the industry, who would it be?

… this is a ridiculous question. There are TOO many amazing artists that I would love to work with. Adele would be pretty fun because I feel our styles compliment each others.

Do you have any other loves, other than music?

Well, I like to exercise, doodle and travel.

Professionally, what has been some of the best advice you have ever received?

Work hard and you’ll make it .

What embarrassing songs might I find on your iPod?

I took a course in ethnomusicology and there is a song by Yellowman from Jamaica called “Mad Over Me” .. I gotta get this off my ipod stat.

What’s next for Melissa?

A NEW SINGLE called “Roll With It” is coming your way at the end of the summer 

Where can readers find more info about you and your music?

Melissamurphymusic.com

 

5 Peel Back questions:

Sour or Sweet?

Sweet

Walks on the beach, or hikes?

.. tie

Secret Celebrity Crush?

HUGH GRANT

Have you ever been fishing?

Yes, I am from Newfoundland

Do you read the newspaper daily?

No 

 

Fans can stay tuned for upcoming projects from Melissa. You can visit her website for all upcoming projects

Leave a Reply

